Servante of Darkness Women in Horror February 2017 Women in Poetry Profile: Jaye Tomas

 

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Women in Horror
February 2017
Women in Poetry
Profile: Jaye Tomas

I started writing as a child before I could properly write or spell (the spelling is still iffy). The words I didn’t know I would illustrate with crayons. No one told me I couldn’t but I can’t say I ever got much encouragement either. As a child I loved the older fairy tales much better than the saccharine disneyfied ones. I liked Morticia Adams and vampires and werewolves. My interests as I got older were shaped on the reading that I preferred: old Gothic horror books that I found (and could afford with my allowance) at garage sales. And a few years later new writer had emerged that I read as soon as his latest hit the stands…you may have heard of him? Stephen King. He has been moderately successful….

Life intruded and I left school, worked, married, had children and occasionally scribbled things on scraps of paper and then shoved them in a drawer, showing no one. This was before the Internet, when computers filled whole rooms and had their own a/c.
Yes….I AM that old.

Fast forward a few years (“few” being a fluid word) and I am furtively typing snippets and poems and ….things…into a computer and pushing send. Don’t bother looking, I was A. Nony. Mous.

The Internet allowed me to dabble, to juuuuuuust baaaaarely touch my shrinking toes in the water. And I liked it. (insert MUWAHAHAHAHAHA here).
So….a successful blog (Chimera Poetry) and 3 published books later…here I stand. The fourth book is on hold as I sideline into a new venture; I have written a children’s book. The first of a three book set. It’s done and just awaiting the illustrations. No….it is NOT a horror story! It’s about a charming hedgepig named Mr Fray. No fangs. No zombies. No disembodied voices. Don’t pout.

Books are my passion, my friend, my plane ticket, my warm blanket, my burr under the saddle. One of the best things about being a part of the writers tribe is finding previously unexplored books, artists, authors etc. It can be a little disconcerting to have some one write to me about liking my poems better when they thought I was a man. (Ummm….sorry?) Since my poems aren’t easily slotted into a specific genre I have been known as more of a ‘dark’ poet. I leave it up to the reader to decide, everyone has a slightly different interpretation which I find endlessly interesting.

I write poetry, not novels, so my mind works a bit differently. I am used to producing more bite sized stories.

Writing is just something I do, need to do, have to do. I get a phrase or a song line or an idea stuck in my head and am not happy until it’s (safely) down on paper. It’s the language I love the most, love to lose myself in. Twisty words and lines that turn and shift… and may bite if you don’t pay attention.

I am amused by the resistance to the idea of women writing Horror. The idea that we are too delicate to write ‘icky’. Those people have never spent time in my mind obviously….

https://chimerapoetry.wordpress.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/JayeTomas

https://www.facebook.com/jaye.tomas.7

Twitter @JayeTomas1

http://jayetomas.tumblr.com/

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

