Violet

Her name was Violet and her scent was violet and she wore violets in her hair.

The air was violet tinted when she started to speak,

 and the low voiced words may have not made sense,

but it was worth it to watch the movements of her face

 and to catch the shadows falling from her violet shadowed eyes.

 

Her name was Violet and her scent was violet and she wore violet gems on her wrists. 

And there was music in her bones, 

you could see it in the way she moved,

and music in her head,

you could hear in the way she talked,

as if the words were surfacing from a deep pond.

And the violet shadows glowed under the streetlamps,

and following her was not a request,

and returning not assured ,

yet the time spun out so slow, 

so sweet, 

like taffy…

and a lifetime passed before the night did.

 

Her name was Violet and her scent was violet,

and she wore those violet marks like writing on her skin,

like a map, 

like a secret,

like a letter from a pretend friend.

And when her eyes met yours you understood that there were always hidden parts in deep water,

and that sunrise doesn’t always kill the monsters,

some of them like the light and the colors,

and some of them smell like violet…

 

©jayetomas2016

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Violet

  1. alb29oclfl says:

    beautifully written, very nicely done

  2. Dead Donovan says:

    Exquisite; especially the last four lines. I read this three times and fell harder each time.

    ~PR

Leave a Reply

