Dragon Heart

“No, I would not want to live in a world without dragons, as I would not want to live in a world without magic, for that is a world without mystery, and that is a world without faith.”
~ R.A. Salvatore, Streams of Silver

 
 
Legends burst at the spoken or illuminated seams 
with tales of dragons and jewels and brave bright flashing swords.
“The heart of a dragon eaten gives strength.”
“Wisdom can be found in their blood
and gargantuan gems bloom in their nest…”
And so the legend is sown and the battle is joined in avarice,
 draped in the cheap finery of righteousness,
with sword and arrow and poison,
fraying the edges of the Order of All Things…
Its balance rudely thrown to one side in the blind and sweating search for glory.
The knights, all puffed with pride and pigeon chested, then ride off into the next chapter…
While the dragon is left lifeless
mutilated
a skin of once bright poetry
punctured, slashed and spent…
The Historians can rewrite endlessly
in thickest blackest ink that splays and spreads across the page.
The Bards may sing until voices crack and words sink deep and harden into the bricks, 
but this is never changing and as ironbound as the seas ceaseless swaying;
there is no wisdom to be found in slaughter.
There will be a price paid, a blood debt owed for the tearing of the world.
And as for the heart of a dragon….
it does not beat.
It burns.
It burns.
It also breaks.
©jayetomas2016
About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dragon Heart

  1. ailsacawley says:

    Beautiful and paints such an image it brings tears.

Leave a Reply

