The Window

“It’s too cold outside for angels to fly.”
― Ed Sheeran

The Window ~
 
I don’t look out the window any more…
the frost has crept across the glass and across my heart as well.
The sunlight invites from the other side of the pane
 plays sweetly over the rooftops,
 but my eyes turn inward
to the hardening icebound center of me.
The beats booming like breaking polar caps
and I don’t look for saving 
or warmth anymore…
it’s easier this way.
My guardian angel finally packed up and went south
 because the frostbite from my shoulder clipped her wings
and these words I pen
are crystallizing on the page, 
crisping like autumn leaves captured in an icy puddle,
and I hope the color holds
because there is no reflection from me to lend them depth.
I don’t look out the window any more
with my fingers leaving hot penny circles.
I don’t want to look.
I don’t want to know.
I just want to settle back
and wait for the final frigid moment
when both time and my burnt finger feelings freeze.
And perhaps later I can start to listen for the clock
the calendar
the seasons
the single minded sweeping of the moon
to tell me when its safe to exhale again.
To draw in a warm breath bravely, 
to step over to the window and once more
look out.
©jayetomas2014

 

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

