I Soar Still

 

The crying didn’t slow you
the blood didn’t stop you
my pain didn’t faze you 
nothing could deter your ego driven desire to make me ground bound
only fit for a dazed and creeping walker
trailing behind you 
 coughing at the dust you kicked up
to soar higher you needed to build yourself 
and I was your scaffold
as I broke and cradled my torn wings 
my soul should have gasped and died 
and it did 
a little
but you were not enough to break me forever
not enough
steadily the force built, flamed
and my resolve held me up and my arms pounded ceaselessly
until they brought forth in sweat and tears 
in black and blue magic
new wings  
as I slipped them on and stepped to the precipice
I left you crawling
bawling after me
and counted
one
two
three
and welcomed the momentary oblivion
as the sky ushered me back into its embrace
and cried joyful rain over and with me 
and you
crumbled back in thwarted impotent fury
kicking into the dust you choked me with
and I soared
and I soared
and I soar still

 

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Soar Still

  1. risinghawk says:

    Reblogged this on The Fires Inside and commented:
    This is awesome. A great poet and such powerful imagery and words!

Leave a Reply

