Hidden Music

“And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

 

Can you hear it?
Can you hear the music she asked me
her eyes burning out of her ivory face
It’s underneath
it’s between
you have to learn what to listen for
you have to try
you have to be willing to go
she said shifting in her shackled jacket
I heard the music in my dreams and then it came to me at other times
and I learned to ride the sounds 
to let them lift me
it’s beautiful there…
and she settled back and hummed a little
then tilted her head like a netsuke mouse
they are singing for you
can you hear them?
Listen…
and reader
I listened
God help me I listened
with a tired patronizing air
and then I it
and I heard them
I heard the hidden music and it rose within me and I saw…
I saw the boundaries thin and saw their color
and they knew my name
they knew my name
and now I listen always
and everywhere
filled with a light that casts no shadow
while my shackled sister hums
and I search for others who can hear
the hidden music

@jayetomas2014

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hidden Music

  1. bejamin4 says:

    Love the quote and the piece.

Leave a Reply

