The Wisdom of Ravens

 

 

His voice is harsh
his words are few and simple
but dropped like seeds 
on rich soil
they spread and grow
listen carefully
 as you tread the ravens meadow in the silk spun night 
for eyes can be deceiving 
but a song cast into the winds can teach and tell the tales
of a thousand trees 
and those onyx eyes know the very beginning 
watch the lights appear and the path will open 
and in his rasping calls lie the key
unlock and tread the ravens meadow in the silk spun night
for there are mysteries here
and death slumbers bare inches from the carpeting of turf
where blood and bones have mingled
and the raven hears their confessions
and speaks it into the stars
listen carefully 
and gather feathers scattered across the grass
for those glossy wings have swept across more planes than this
and knowledge clings like woodsmoke scent
gather in
and listen carefully
for the sorrow and joy flow in equal measure here
and the gliding lights flicker in acknowledgement
as you tread the ravens meadow
@jayetomas2014
About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wisdom of Ravens

  1. Beautiful dense, magical imagery. Ravens are special birds.

Leave a Reply

