Broken Molds

I was melted by your smile
and dazzled 
diverted
not noticing I was being poured into a mold I could not fit in
had not looked for
asked for
but any flaws were fully mine
starkly loudly labeled
there are so many truths and you spoke them all 
yelled them all
layered them like colored sand in a bottle
and like sand it smothered me and my lips shut tightly
and I stood there
painfully molded
and listened as you shamed me for not fitting 
and listened to the door groan closed 
and I was left mute 
motionless 
until the sound waves from all my silent screaming shattered the glass and I rode the dune
all the way to the bottom
looking up at the clouds erasing the blue sky and wondering when I loved you
I am spreading out
like a spilled drink
and I want to climb again
to see the view from the top and then decide if I should keep climbing further
and I will start the journey
in my own skin and leave those sticky scraps of peeled picked off labels
and broken cheap plastic mold
in the sand
©jayetomas2014
About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Broken Molds

  1. Éilis Niamh says:

    A very powerful poem. You have such beautiful imagery.

  2. debra says:

    Fantastic one, Jaye!! Peace ❤

Leave a Reply

