Iceveldt III – The Rise of the Dread Ones

fantasy art artwork airship legend of grimrock

The Dread Ones rose from the smoke and steam of a shattered world
our own madness
our own arrogance
broke the laws of nature and gods and severed the bindings
which held the planet together
and sent it spinning on a collision course with the end of all days
At first they were nothing but rumor and fearful whispers
a product of trauma
of nightmares
and who was without nightmares in those first months?
even when awake the horror was never far away
always close enough to
just
lightly
brush with a frigid claw
But their touch went beyond freezing and no tales came back
of those who were taken
were they enslaved? slaughtered?
were they…
changed?
the cavern of silence ran deep as any ocean and held it’s secrets tightly
At first we fought
still arrogant even in our beaten brokenness
but no weapons work on the unstoppable
the unkillable
the unhuman
With no fear of death or man or fire or water
they rolled over us like a river in a flash flood
we fled back to the skies
and gave the firm land up as lost
as were our souls
Deep thoughts on so fair a morning
as I sail past

 

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

