I Am Like Water

 

“Water does not resist. Water flows. When you plunge your hand into it, all you feel is a caress. Water is not a solid wall, it will not stop you. But water always goes where it wants to go, and nothing in the end can stand against it. Water is patient. Dripping water wears away a stone. Remember that, my child. Remember you are half water. If you can’t go through an obstacle, go around it. Water does.”  ― Margaret AtwoodThe Penelopiad

I am like water
and water flows
I pass over rocks and borders and cutting edges and things that want to bite and snag
and I
crawl liquidly along them
over and around
keep moving keep moving
never still
until I am gone
no memory no trace
but for a fleeting ripple soon stilled
I am like water
I am clear and cold
I cannot be held
you try with clenching
grasping hands tightly cupped
but I will trickle through
and what’s left behind will dry
I am like water
I will wear away over you and over you
smooth those edges
groove into you
making a path where there was nothing but stone before
I am like water
I can satisfy your thirst
I can make you bloom
I can hold you up and let you float
twirl you around like a leaf
or drown you in a second
I am like water
and like water
I flow…

©jayetomas2014

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Like Water

  1. debra says:

    Masterful!! I love it! Peace 🙂

Leave a Reply

