Along the Road

 

Your eyes are drawn upward
following the light
the roof is open to the sky
in this place of rest
of water and 
of needful things
Years untold of traveling and loneliness and of many leavetakings
a way station along the search for destiny
for dreams of gold and silk
and of love
the pilgrim
the merchant
the thief
 the fool
 the wise man
the desert accepts them all
and covers them in light    
©jayetomas2014                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

Bazaar of Kashan (Persianبازار کاشان‎ Bāzār-e Kāshān) is an old bazaar in the center of the city of KashanIran. It is thought to have been built in the Seljuk era with renovations during the Safavidperiod. The bazaar has a famous architecture, especially at its Timche-ye Amin od-Dowleh section, where a grand light well was built in the 19th century. The bazaar is still in use and is a few miles in total length. In the bazaar’s complex beside the main bazaars, there are several mosques, tombs,caravanserais, arcades, baths, and water reservoirs that each were constructed in a different period.

caravanserai was a roadside inn where travelers could rest and recover from the day’s journey. Caravanserais supported the flow of commerce, information, and people across the network of trade routes covering Asia, North Africa, and southeastern Europe, especially along the Silk Road.These were found frequently along the Persian Empire‘s Royal Road, a 2,500-kilometre (1,600 mi) long ancient highway that stretched from Sardis to Susa according to Herodotus: “Now the true account of the road in question is the following: Royal stations exist along its whole length, and excellent caravansaries; and throughout, it traverses an inhabited tract, and is free from danger.”

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Along the Road

  1. Bass says:

    Reblogged this on CARPE DIEM and commented:
    “A way station along the search for destiny”

Leave a Reply

