Fury Is the New Black

rage

Fury is the new black
excuse me please
has been replaced by snarling getthefuckouttamyway
shove you shiv you leave you lying there
while the birds circle overhead grateful for such rich pickings
road rage isn’t contained to the road and to meet someones eye is to invite a step into the ring
why the anger
why the punching kicking rage
running a gauntlet of tight lips tight eyes
and a fist with a mind of its own
bred like attack dogs
search and destroy in the name of respect
what do you tell a woman with two black eyes
nothing you’ve already told her twice
facebook petitions and a call for the cull of bullies in the classroom
while on any
every
street we walk past the full grown ones
that stand there in clumps simmering
as we scuttle briskly past looking any which way but at them
and praying we don’t draw the short straw
the losers lottery
breathing easier as we escape with only our pride hurt
fury is the new black
as the lambs cluster around the lion buying drinks
and laughing on cue
and praising the woolly coat he peeled off of someone else
because it leaves them their own

*artwork by Riji Dij*
http://sangrea.net/rijidij/digital_art.htm

 

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

