Stars Fall

 

Stars fall
young ones old ones all gaze up in wonder
as the brightness streaks across the night
make a wish they say
and laugh and smile and point at the sky
close your eyes make a wish
but I don’t
I don’t want to wish
I don’t want to hinge my tomorrow on a small burning death
I who spend long and long nights
trying on one life one story after another
like slipping in and out of robes
looking for a just right fit
walking around in a waking dream
more appealing to me than the mondaytuesdaywednesdy of the real
the world of the date just under the headlines
the time in the corner of that screen
I am waiting I keep waiting
for the next thing
and its been so long
I’m starting to wonder
if the next thing
will be the last thing
and the sad fact is I have wasted the time
waiting
watching the stars die
watching the fall
and not wishing
not wanting to speak the words out loud
to make it real
safer inside my head
safer
but an unremarkable life
It may have been better to let myself burn
than to fade.

©jayetomas2014

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stars Fall

  1. bejamin4 says:

    Love these lines: “more appealing to me than the mondaytuesdaywednesdy of the real / the world of the date just under the headlines”

Leave a Reply

