Madness

“I expect to become an extremely spiteful madman.” ~ Arthur Rimbaud

Madness is a state of mind
more like unmind
Of all the things that I have lost I miss my mind the most
they say and then they laugh like its amusing
but their eyes tell you differently
windows of a soul that’s breaking up in front of you like melting ice
I can tell, you see, because I am free floating and fractured also
If the monsters must be hidden and a smile plastered in place with
society manners and a comfortable suburban home
why do I miss the presence
the whispering voices
the dark ones
the ones that crept like beetles into your head
I felt more at home, more at ease with the unlikely
worlds away from game shows and endless rounds of drinks at the latest trendy bar
away from the books clubs and top pop 40
I played a different tune
music which swelled the savage not soothed
and in doing so set it free
Madness, I suppose, but wouldn’t it have been madder still to have have left it chained inside
and never let the monster soar
taking me to dizzlingly stomach turning heights and dropping me
again and again until I stopped fearing the fall
now I fear being fully grounded
I fear being left alone in my head
madness is a state of unmind

©jayetomas2014

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Madness

  1. Eilish Niamh says:

    What powerful words. To gain the world but lose ourselves, why would that be rational? I think the mad one has the right idea in this case.

Leave a Reply

