Selkie

selkie jessica shirley

Divided heart and spirit by a world with no shade
too dry, too brittle
As you remain, the condemned
gazing with limpid liquid eyes
into the distance where horizon and sparkling wave meet
you sigh
and cry
the salt lingers on your lips
burning
so bitter a reminder
as the seawater coils about the rock
and grasps at the shore, pleading for your return
cajoling you
reminding you of who you once were
before your smooth and sleek coat was stolen,
chaining you to rock and dust and air as dry as granite
while an unforgiving star burns overhead

*artwork by jessica shirley*

 

About chimerapoet

I write. I write a lot. A. LOT. There are times I am half blind with a sentence ricocheting off the walls of my stupid, cant be shut off to save my life, brain. I am miserable until I get it down on paper. Punch it up a bit. Usually cross out half of it. And then breathe. Relax. Only to do it all again..... But I just thought that was me. How I am. Not a writer....noooo...not me. Writers are.....writing people. People Who Write. REALLY write. Write things that matter. All grown up very important things. Not.....me. I am just a scribbler of sorts. And I was/am content with that....if it's true, well then....a scribbler am I. Until the thought wormed its way in to my brain (the furtive sneaky bitch) that maybe...just maybe...that is writing. My style. My strange way. But....still writing. So here I am at the dance. Not sure I know any of the moves and the music is entirely mine. But.....only one way to find out. Would you care to join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Selkie

  1. Reblogged this on Jane Dougherty Writes and commented:
    I always said seals were special. From a wonderful poetry site. Go visit.

Leave a Reply

